Museum Board Members:

Robert Berger, President
Jacomien Mars, Vice-President
David Hubert, Treasurer
Isabel T. Wallop, Secretary

Thomas Bernard
Andrew Cope
Leslie Johnston
Tom Meredith
Father Peter J. Powell
Sam J. Scott
Joan F. Wallick

ex officio:
Kenneth L. Schuster, Director & Chief Curator
Joel C. Wardell, Chief Operating Officer


The Brinton Museum’s National Advisory Council, formed in 2014, currently has thirty-three active and four ex-officio members, representing over twenty states and three foreign countries.

President: Thomas E. Bernard
Secretary: Hilary Goodwin
Ex officio: Robert Berger, Jacomien Mars, Kenneth L. Schuster, Joel Wardell

Current Members:
Terri Baas, Jerry Berger, Rosie Berger, Tracy Boyle, Ceci Butler, Edward Campbell III, Marion R. Cato, Betsy Denison, Jane A. Ferril, Doug Gouge, Kendall Hartman, Gil Johnston, Lloyd Kelly, Kevin McMahon, Susan Miller, Doug Moomey, Gerald Peters, Heather Plank, Rick Porter, Bill Rader, Jerry Sheldon, Andrew Smith, Jason Stevenson, Celia Wallace, Isabel Wallop (past president), Paul Wallop, Priscilla Welles, Loran White, Charles Whiton.

The Brinton Museum’s American Indian Advisory Council (inaugurated in 2015) consists of ten highly respected members from the Apsaalooke-Crow, Northern Cheyenne, Lakota and Navajo Nations.

Council Members:

Apsaalooke – Crow Nation:
Thomas M. Yellowtail
Vernon Whiteman

Northern Cheyenne Nation:
Wallace Bearchum
Linwood Tall Bull

Lakota Nation:
Craig Howe

Representatives at Large:
Vivian Arviso, Navajo Nation
Rhonda Holy Bear, Cheyenne River Lakota Nation
Norma Robertson, Sisseton Dakota Nation
Mardell Hogan Plainfeather, Apsaalooke – Crow Nation

Board Liaison:
Father Peter J. Powell
Foundation for the Preservation of American Indian Art and Culture

Portrait of Forrest E. Mars, Jr. by Everett Raymond Kinstler
Portrait of Forrest E. Mars, Jr. by Everett Raymond Kinstler

Mr. Mars served as the first President of The Brinton Museum Board until his passing on July 26, 2016 and was posthumously awarded the Wyoming Governor’s Arts Award for 2016 on February 3, 2017.

The video produced by the Wyoming Arts Council can be accessed HERE.


“Dearest Brinton Family, By now most of you are aware of the passing of our dear friend and most ardent patron Forrest E. Mars, Jr. Indeed Forrest was a true citizen of the world and could have lived in any corner of it, but Big Horn, WY was his home, and he was a proud and active member of our community as witnessed by his many gifts to the numerous public efforts around Sheridan County, not the least of which was made to this institution. We say farewell to our beloved friend and neighbor with sad hearts but with the enduring memory of a kind and generous man who enjoyed helping worthy causes, not for the glory, nor for the honor, but for the enduring benefit they bring the community.

Kenneth L. Schuster

Director & Chief Curator of The Brinton Museum Big Horn, WY, August 1, 2016